Back from Northumberland, with an afternoon’s chilling, Uzbek style

DSC_0007

Allendale, where we went for the personal challenge week of the NCS Challenge, is unspeakably beautiful. Rolling fells and hills all around, rivers gurgling through the scenery, farmland and traditional stone-built pubs…..it’s England at its best. We were lucky [?] to be there during one of the hottest weeks they’d ever had, so no ‘rain stopped play’ for us.

https://www.visitnorthumberland.com/allendale

A 12-mile fell walk, bushcraft and problem-solving, and very stuffy bedrooms, however, were not quite the way most of us would have spent our time. Swimming and jumping into a river full of waterfalls and natural stone slides was a welcome treat though. However, I had a panic attack; a mixture of heat, lack of sleep and feeling really claustrophobic in diving gear, safety helmet and buoyancy vest all combined to cause this. I did manage to at least get in the water and slide down a couple of small rocks, so all was not lost, but it challenged me as to whether I was really up to this type of adventure. For images of the type of thing we were doing [though not actual pictures of our group] try this link:-

https://bit.ly/2KQXwDN

I survived the week, though had to swap with another leader for the mining trip – apparently it was extremely tight in places and I just knew I wasn’t up to that – discretion…valour etc etc.

This last few days we were living in Student Halls in Preston having workshops about Storytelling, Public Speaking and Enterprise. The young people I was mentoring were amazing; part of our role was to visit a care centre for dementia sufferers and they all managed brilliantly. Most were very apprehensive, not to say scared silly, but they all came away feeling they wanted to help do something for this centre and spread awareness among their own age-group to help break down barriers.

http://www.ncsthechallenge.org/

For me, despite feeling so proud of them, I had a panic attack, followed by a fall on some stairs, followed by a small nosebleed, followed by what I felt was a real threat/assault/challenge to my own personal faith. All this was on the same day. That night I resigned in floods of tears. So many conflicting feelings: wanting to finish the 4 weeks with my team, not wanting to let the other staff down, not wanting to go against my personal faith…..I was in a personal hell. However, after loads of love, listening, hugs and reassurance I un-resigned and finished the week.

Our staff team went to chill with much-needed beer etc at Level in the Guildhall, Preston and then I wearily caught the bus home. I fell asleep on the bus and went 4 stops past my own 😦 However, it was a lovely evening and I [almost] enjoyed the walk back to my flat.

https://levelpreston.co.uk/

Today, I’m having an Uzbek afternoon. I’m drinking some of the green tea I brought back – it has hints of flowers, mint and – well – relaxation a-plenty.

I am also cooking the traditional Uzbek dish, Plov. This recipe was given to us in our welcome packs when we first arrived.

IMG_20180709_0003IMG_20180709_0004

Yes, there are a few spelling mistakes and strange word choices – but think! How well could you write a recipe for Roast beef and Yorkshire pudding in Uzbek?

DSC_0034

And……..an hour or so later….looking good 🙂

Leave a comment